Texas Concealed Handgun License
The Texas Concealed Carry Permit class is offered every month of the year. The class is approximately ten hours of classroom instruction and qualification on the range with a handgun. You may qualify with either a semi-automatic or revolver. If you qualify with a revolver, you will only be licensed to carry a revolver. If you qualify with a semi-automatic, you may carry either a semi-automatic or revolver of your choice. The class is conducted at our office in Denton usually on Saturdays and the range qualification takes place on Friday evening the day before or just after the classroom portion is completed on Saturday. The range is located at my property and is a private range facility. The cost for use of my range is included in the cost of your CHL class. Cost for the Texas Concealed Class is $125.00 and includes all of the necessary documents completed in class for the application process; passport photos, fingerprints and all paperwork. Your cost for the ammunition required is not included in the class fees. Renewals are conducted at the same time of the initial class and require less time in the classroom and as of 2010, may not require you to qualify on the range. Time required for the CHL to be issued runs approximately four weeks from the time DPS in Austin receives your completed paperwork. Effective in 2010, DPS allows and encourages you to fill out your application paperwork online prior to taking the class. This also allows your paperwork to be processed quicker once the class is completed and cuts down on the time it takes to have your TX CHL issued and in your possession.
This course assumes that you already know how to use your handgun!
No class time is available to teach basic shooting skills. If you believe you cannot pass the proficiency test with a score of 175/250, (70%) or better, you should consider enrolling in the basic NRA class to learn to shoot. One on one sessions are available.
Concealed Handgun License course length is 10 to 15 hours.
To apply for a Concealed Handgun License in Texas you must be:
- A resident of Texas.
- 21 and legally able to buy a handgun under both Federal and State law.
- Not judged to be chemically dependent or of unsound mind.
- Not ever convicted of a felony anywhere, and no convictions of a Class A or B misdemeanor in the past 5 years.
- Not subject to a restraining or protective order.
- Not delinquent in payment of taxes, child support or any money collected by any Texas Governmental entity.
- Out of state residents may apply for a non-resident license if they meet all other requirements listed above.
You must qualify using .32 caliber or larger. If you qualify with a Semi-Auto, you may carry any type or caliber handgun. If you qualify with a revolver, you may not carry a semi-auto.
The shooting proficiency test will consist of 50 rounds of timed fire on the state specified target. 20 rounds at 3 yards, 20 rounds at 7 yards and 10 rounds at 15 yards.